About Us

Department of Architecture

Institut Teknologi Bandung (ITB)
School of Architecture, Planning and Policy Development
Department of Architecture (Sarjana, Magister and Doktor Program)
Jl. Ganesha 10, Bandung 40132

Tel: +62.22.2504962
Fax: +62.22.2530705
Web: www.ar.itb.ac.id

A. Adib Abadi, Dr (Head of Undergraduate Program) | kadep@ar.itb.ac.id
Hanson E. Kusuma, Dr.Eng (Head of Graduate Programs) | hangsong(at)ar.itb.ac.id

Degrees/certificates offered:

  1. Sarjana Teknik (Bachelor of Engineering in Architecture)
  2. Magister Teknik (Master of Engineering in Architecture)
  3. Doktor (Doctor of Engineering in Architecture)

Admission requirements:

  1. Sarjana Teknik Program: senior high school certificate, university entrance examination
  2. Magister Teknik Program: Sarjana Teknik degree or equivalent
  3. Doctoral Program: Magister Teknik degree or equivalent

Program Description:

The Department of Architecture at the Institut Teknologi Bandung is established on October 25th, 1950 and is one of the oldest architectural schools in Southeast Asia. It envisions itself as the regional hub for the learning of tropical architecture and built environment in developing countries.

Education at the Department of Architecture is focused on developing the students’ capacity to understand a wide range of issues required to answer the challenges that lie ahead in the field of architecture and built environment. Broad-based design curriculum is introduced to catch up with the science of architecture that grows and develops in tandem with changes in human needs, nature and environment, science and technology, as well as art and design.

Graduates of the programs are expected to be professional, practicing architects and/or development practitioners who have wide knowledge in architectural design and built environment issues. Students can choose to undertake the research area of their interest from the 8 laboratories offered by the Department: Human Behavior and Environmental Design; Urban Design; Ethno and Traditional Architecture; Landscape Architecture; Housing and Human Settlements; Project and Construction Management; Building and Environmental Control; and Development and Regulation. To support these labs, faculty members are grouped into 4 research units in the following fields (Kelompok Keahlian, KK): Design in Architecture; History, Theory and Critique in Architecture; Building Technology; and Housing and Human Settlements.

To facilitate learning and research, the Department is equipped with a sophisticated computer lab, wind tunnel, four design studios and a library collection of construction material samples as well as over 10,000 books and periodicals.

The  Department of Architecture is housed in ITB’s School of Architecture, Planning and Policy Development and has evolved over time to offer programs in the undergraduate (Sarjana), master (Magister) and doctoral studies as well as professional architect license.  The Sarjana program consists of 8 semesters; the Magister is completed in 4 semesters while the doctoral program stretches over 6 semesters.

Sarjana Program

The program aims to produce broad based research in the field of tropical architecture and human settlement environment in developing countries.  Graduates are expected to be able to undertake career in production and/or management of built environment and to pursue further studies; and become professional architects with the capability to develop career in the design and construction industry.

Core emphasis for the undergraduate program is on studio work. Students must have completed and passed a beginner’s level studio before proceeding to an upper level studio. Lecture courses are meant to expand the students’ architectural horizon and skill that will support studio work.

Magister Program

The Magister Program in Architecture is launched in 1984 with the aim to produce master graduates who are skilled professionals in their chosen fields and able to face challenges from rapid change in culture, technology and economy in the future.

The Magister program stretches over 2 years consisting of 4 semesters with a total of 36 credits. The program allows students to choose courses from 2 major study concentrations: design and research. Admission for design concentration requiresSarjana Teknik degree. Graduates are expected to be able to develop career in architecture and built environment research and/or professions.

Doktor Program

The Doktor Program has been in place since 1997 and it aims to produce graduates with the appropriate academic aptitude; and who are able to conduct independent research; provide original contributions toward the development of architectural sciences; and active in disseminating their findings through scientific publications in the field of architecture.

The Doctoral Program enables students to develop their capacity for creative and critical thinking and to undertake ethical and responsible actions; and as graduates, be ready to assume the role of competent professionals, entrepreneurs, leaders and agents of change in the society.  The Program encourages academic activities and collaborations in the field of architecture with a focus on issues such as good governance, community based and participatory approaches, and local indigenous knowledge, culture and identity.

The curriculum consists of 43 credits spanned over 3 years or 6 semesters; it has a total study period that is limited to 5 years or 10 semesters.

The academic program is divided into 3 phases.  The first phase consists of qualifying exam and requires 1 year of courses.  In the second phase, students undertake independent research; and in the third and final phase, students defense their dissertations in a closed seminar and subsequently followed by an opened or public presentation.